Wow!!!


Waterlily Mat

Originally uploaded by bonitocrafts

What can I say really. I was exceptionally pleased with this piece of lace that I worked over the course of about a year. It has been a real labour of love and a lot of hard work. The design was inspired by the scroll like patterns on a Norwich shawl that I found on a postcard when there for a training course for work about 2 years ago. The design came together over the course of the next 6 months or so before the year or so of working the actual lace. I calculated that it took approx 140 working hours to complete the lace and mount it on the fabric and probably another 20 hours in working samples.

Fellow lace makers and friends persuaded me to enter this piece into the 2010 Lace Guild competition and eventually I gave in and sent of my work.

After being out all morning today I came home to find a letter on the mat from the Lace Guild informing me that the judging for the competition has now taken place and that my piece of lace has been award a Medal of Excellence.

I am so very thrilled and now seems the right time to share this on my blog.

Click the picture to go to a further image of this piece in more detail.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sylvie
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 15:36:40

    C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S !!! Claire… it’s just beautiful, no wonder you won this prize
    Hug
    Sylvie

    Reply

  2. Sue Sharpe
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 16:53:37

    Woooooow, Claire, this is so beautiful, Congratulations you deserve to get the Medal of Excellence, it is so nice to see the finished piece, well done,

    suex

    Reply

  3. Maxine D
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 00:12:35

    Claire this is stunning!!! So glad it ‘got a mention” – you deserved it!!

    Reply

  4. Sherry Townsend Aka Celtic Dream Weaver
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 19:37:26

    I LOVE Milanese Lace. I also was so lucky to take a class with Pat Read at Ithaca, New YOrk Fingerlakes Lace Guild Weekend. I really need to get back to my bobbin lace. I have an angel that I drew years ago and did start to make but I wasn’t happy with the way she was turning out…but I need to get back to her and get her done. It would be for me the first time I Have designed something in bobbinlace and get it made. I have design tatting designs for dragons and wire tatting but never bobbinlace.
    YOur Milanese piece is to dye for. VERY,VERY PRETTY!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

