Last minute lace.

Lace flower hair band

Am off to Walsall tomorrow with a couple of good friends to collect the medal for excellence that I won and see the rest of the Lace Guild Movement Exhibition. I thought it would be nice to be wearing a piece of lace when I collect my prize so yesterday I decided to finally get round to completing an idea I had a couple of weeks ago when I had my hair cut short. I had seen some sweet hairbands with flowers on and thought they would look nice with my new haircut, I bought an inexpensive one and took the bow off that was on it.

I went through my lace books and found the ones I had on Lace flowers and settled on the daisy pattern from Rosemary Shepherd’s Fantasy Flowers. I wired the edge by working a single wire with the outside edge pair. It was relatively quick to work and went together nicely when I had completed the lace. Once off the pillow I gently curved the petals and stitched the centre to the hairband. It looked pretty but still needed ‘something’ so I had a rummage in my stash of beads and found 5 faceted glass beads in just the right colour to match the lace. I stitched these to the centre of the flower and ‘ta da!’ I now have a super pretty flower to wear in my hair.

Here’s a couple more pictures showing the flower in more detail.

Lace Flower

Lace Flower close up

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 01:10:48

    Claire this is beautiful – so glad you blogged it – lace is also a love of mine 🙂 not that I am anywhere near the standard that you are! Enjoy your recognition – I am sure it is well deserved.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

