Snowed in.

Idrija Lace

Ok, so we’ve had some rather severe weather here this week and I’ve barely been more than a few hundred yards away from the house since Monday afternoon. We woke up to about 4 inches of snow on Tuesday morning. By Wednesday morning we had 10 inches and then by Thursday morning we 14-15 inches of the stuff.  Going anywhere by car was not an option and there was no service on the trains from the nearest station 1.5 miles away. Fortunately  we had ordered a food shop that came first thing Tuesday so that wasn’t an issue and after checking our elderly neighbours had everything they needed the only thing left was to keep occupied till we can get out again.

I’m rambling now. The point is, I had started this piece of lace at a weekend course in Folkestone so out came my lace pillow and over the last 3 days working on it here and there I have finished it. I also managed to get all my teaching course coursework done and out of the way too.

I’m pretty pleased with how this piece came out, it only takes a few pairs of bobbins and the lace snakes around from start to finish attaching to already completed parts as you go along. It used rather more thread than I anticipated but thanks to some lovely lace friends coming to the rescue I was able to match the thread colour and get enough to complete the piece.

This morning I dug my car out of the mountain of snow it was under, but as we watched several cars struggling to get up the road I shall leave it till tomorrow before trying to get my car down the road so I can get to teach my class on Monday morning. Things are slowly getting back to normal and I am hoping to fully rejoin the real world in the next day or two.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Geraldine
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 00:39:22

    That’s just amazing. Absolutely beautiful.

    Reply

    • Claire
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 09:20:31

      Thank you Geraldine.

      I am pleased with it. It’s a relatively straightforward type of lace but the way it is constructed really gives it impact. They still make this type of lace In Idrija, Slovenia to make a living.

      Reply

  2. Maxine D
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 05:40:16

    Love the lace – it is fascinating the way the trails meander to make the whole.

    A white Christmas is on the cards for you, from the sounds of things! I would hate to have to live in snowy conditions like yours.

    We are very hot here, (NZ) and getting very dry with an ‘official’ drought being close to being announced for the major part of the North Island, and no significant rain being forecast before Christmas – the temps are already as high as January, which is normally our hottest month…

    May you have a wonderful Christmas!

    Reply

    • Claire
      Dec 05, 2010 @ 09:18:44

      Thank you Maxine. I expect by Christmas it will just be grey and wet. I have never known a White Christmas in this country in my lifetime. As we don’t get snow on the scale of America or some parts of the continent we are not equipped to deal with it so just have to stop and wait for it to go.

      Hope you get some water over there soon.

      Merry Christmas to you too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

