More stripy fun

I think what I love most about crafting is that from starting off with a pile of basic craft supplies and a bit of time and skill you can create something to be proud of. This for me is even more the case with crafts involving thread or yarn. To start with balls of yarn or reels of thread and a little equipment, such as a humble crochet hook to produce a functional and attractive item is just fantastic.

This summer I had a bit of a yarn splurge, dipping into my savings to spend over £80 on cotton double knit yarn to make a ripple striped blanket in 10 yummy colours. This bought me 40 balls of yarn that I proceeded to turn 30 of into my ripply blanket that you can see in an older post here.

At the end of my blanket I had 10 balls of yarn left so proceeded to make this bag. It is from a pattern posted by the very talented Lucy at attic24

Stripy Lucy bag

I started my bag a while ago and posted the start of it on this blog but then it got sidelined by other things as they do. This weekend however I have made a concerted effort to get it finished.

I was pleased with my bag when finished but felt that it needed a lining to ensure that I could use it without stretching it instantly out of shape. I had a rummage in my fabric stash and found some lovely bright fabric for the lining and some fleece fabric that would make a perfect interlining for the bag. Using a mixing bowl from the kitchen to cut a template for the base of the bag I made the lining using the fabric and fleece together before stitching into my bag. I also added an extra row of stitching after attaching the lining to be certain the fleece wouldn’t bunch up between the lining and the bag.

I now have a lovely bag which, apart from not having woven the fabrics myself every stitch with hook and needle was completed by me. I am so very pleased with it and here are some more pictures I have taken to show off my latest creation.

Flower Close up

Bag Lining

Bag Lining Detail

Scrummy colours

And after all this I still have quite a bit of the yarn left. I am determined to use up as much of it as I possibly can so watch this space for the next instalment of colourful hookiness.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 00:06:13

    Well done – it’s one handsome bag and very well constructed!! I also love crochet, but thanks to some wrist/arm stress/overuse problems I am currently limited on things like that 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

