Milanese Lace Pendant workshop

I’ve had a wonderfully relaxing and productive day today at my local lacemaking group today, attending a workshop with Jenny Macpherson to work a lovely Milanese lace pendant design. I really enjoyed my day and even though I needed to tweak mine slightly as my thread was a little thicker than ideal, I am thrilled with my finished piece of lace.

When I got home after the class I decided I wanted to make the edging a little more firm to make the piece stand up better to being worn, particularly as I am prone to fiddling with a necklace if I am wearing one. To resolve this, I tacked my lace to a needlelace pad of calico and architect’s linen and with some #26 silver covered cake wire buttonholed a cordonette to my lace complete with a loop to attach to a chain or cord.

Here are some pictures of my finished piece, the second is a close up of the bottom section with the beads added during the making of the piece and the final picture shows the piece with a ten pence piece to give an idea of the size of the lace.

Pendant

Close up

Coin for scale

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 00:06:38

    This is lovely, Claire – one day I will get back to my lace pillow!!

    Love the new look to your blog too 🙂

    Reply

  2. Vickie Green
    Feb 13, 2011 @ 02:24:05

    Great job Claire! You’re cordonette wire edge is as beautiful as it will be functional. I would have never thought of that but will use the idea in the future I’m sure. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. Joan B
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 22:49:47

    It’s beautiful. Glad you enjoyed your day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

