Happy St George’s Day

Happy St George’s Day.

For anyone outside the UK St George is the patron saint of England. Not that you would know quite often, as far more attention is given to St Patrick’s Day instead. This is fine, and of course anyone of Irish Heritage, myself included in part is more than entitled to celebrate this day, however, it is disappointing to me that St George is largely ignored in the UK.

Anyhow. I wanted to share this card with you so I shall get back to the point. Friends of mine do celebrate St George’s Day and I was asked by Mrs friend if I would make a card for her hubby. I was more than happy to oblige.

I stumbled across this freebie on Dustin Pike’s website. I don’t know if he is still available but Dustin always has plenty of other designs to choose from in his digi stamp shop. Have a look here at his blog and here at his digi site.

You’re bored now aren’t you? You want to see the card I am waffling on about. Well, here you go.

George

And a little more information about my card. He is coloured with Pro markers and his mottly skin is achieved by dotting all over with the blender pen, after I had completed the shading on the image. His shield and Pennant were plain so I used a black fineliner pen to add the cross of St George to them before colouring.

Once coloured I cut him out with a small white edge and mounted him on the background with foam squares. The background image is by Kanban, a UK based company and part of a range of scenic background images, matted on a piece of red bazzill type card from Papermania, to reflect the St George cross red.

To finish off the card I added some bunting pennants (Hero Arts stamps) stamped onto white card with cross added with fineline pen. And Finally, the words at the bottom were peel off letter stickers from my frighteningly large stash.

Hope you like my card and thank you for looking.

Edit: I sent Dustin a picture of my card and he has very kindly spotlighted it on his blog today. I was really thrilled when he asked if he could. Thank you Dustin.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Denni
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 19:54:51

    WOW I LOVE this card! I love the colors and your coloring – perfect! Dustin shared your card on his blog and I’m so glad he did, it’s wonderful inspiration.
    🙂

    Reply

  2. SiskiyouSue
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 01:51:34

    Great card! Love it and the story of St. George.

    Reply

  3. Gramma
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 02:58:13

    I love the transformation of Dudley to “Saint George.” Very appropriate. You have a wonderful hand with the pro-markers!
    Hugz,
    Gramma

    Reply

  4. Sylvie
    May 01, 2011 @ 07:31:57

    What a FABULOUS card… I love everything about it…
    See you soon hopefully,
    Hugs
    Sylvie x

    Reply

  5. Supernan Sue
    May 06, 2011 @ 17:45:13

    Wow!! Claire this is wonderful. I know I am a bit late in commenting on it, just catching up a bit on things.
    Hope to see you soon
    Sue xx

    Reply

  6. Erin
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 03:57:10

    I love your St. George’s Day card. Whilst an American, I do know about St. George’s day. I love the motley look you created!

    Also, I noticed that behind your card is a picture (well, half of a picture) of an IndyCar. I also like racing.

    Have a great day!
    Erin

    Reply

Leave a Reply

