Birthday Baking

I had my new Kitchenaid a couple of days before my birthday and really gave it a workout in the first few days. I baked cakes for colleagues at work as well as for my fellow students at Uni. It was certainly a good test for the machine and I have to say I was not disappointed.

For Uni I made a dozen plain cupcakes with royal icing and sweets to decorate plus a dozen chocolate cupcakes with chocolate fudge frosting and mini marshmallows. Then on my birthday in readiness to take to work I baked a second batch of the chocolate cakes plus a dozen Lemon Meringue cupcakes (fast becoming my signature bake) and a new recipe to me of a rather lovely Almond, Cherry and Coconut meringue slice. As you will see from the pictures I had a fair old mountain of cake which went down very well with my work colleagues. Indeed there were enough left over to pay a visit to hubby’s office on the way home and deliver some there away.

Here are the pictures.

Birthday baking

cupcakes

Cherry, Almond and coconut meringue slice

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 23:42:14

    Wrong time to be looking at these posts – I am sitting here with a coffee and trying not to want to eat…………. they look delectable, and i am sure they were very much appreciated by both lots of staff!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

