Cards update

What with one thing and another (one being Uni and another teaching) I haven’t made nearly as many cards lately and I have certainly been falling behind in updating my flickr gallery with them. I have now done this so to look at more of my recent cards follow the flickr link and go and have a look. If that takes your fancy at any rate.

In this post I thought I would share a few cards I have made with a technique that I have not really used before of using rubber stamps and patterned papers. I have avoided rubber stamping for many years as I never had a great deal of success with the technique. I never really got on very well with using embossing powders and heat guns and I found the selection and prices of available stamps to be fairly unattractive.

However, in recent times the wide choice of stamps and the emergence of clear acrylic stamps have encouraged me to have another go. I like the acrylic stamps and the fact that you can better see what you are stamping and rather than a huge stock of coloured ink pads and embossing powders I have gone down the simple route, stamping in plain black or brown ink then either colouring with Pro markers or stamping directly onto patterned papers for different effects.

Here are some of my favourites.

Cupcake

This first one was for a colleague at work the stamp is a woodware clear stamp and the papers used were DoCrafts Forever Friends paper packs and some pink gingham I also had in my stash. By stamping the image on each patterned paper and cutting out the different parts of the design I created a layered decoupage with the pieces then added pearl gems to the icing on the cake.

Flowers

This one was inspired by a card seen at The Glitter Pot, a fab shop in Burgess Hill. The flowers are Hero Arts I think and the components are stamped onto papers from Basic Grey’s Kioshi range. The base card is covered with DoCrafts version of Bazzill card and the other mats are also from the Basic Grey papers. The card and mats are inked around the edges and the flower components shaped with an embossing tool to give dimension to them and finished with Card Candi pressed into an ink pad to give a mottled finish. The final finish was a peel off greeting and a pretty lilac organza ribbon.

Coffee and Cake

 

Again this card uses the large cupcake stamp  but a different look achieved by using the Spring Feast paper pad from First Edition Paper. The mug is a shaped card from Craftwork cards covered with more paper from the same set and the steam swirls are die cut with a swirls Sizzix sizzlets cutting die in my cuttlebug.

I have uploaded a number of other recently cards. Click on the flickr link at the side of this page to go and have a peek.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 20:59:12

    Wooooooooow Claire, I love your cards, My favourite has to be the cupcakes,

    well done,

    Sue x

    Reply

  2. Maxine D
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 23:44:38

    Wonderful cards 🙂 love your style.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

