Sweet Lovely Nancy

On the 17th May, my lovely cousin Nancy caught up with me in the age stakes. Some of the happiest times of my childhood were spent with Nan. Running barefoot to the seaside at Felixstowe in the summer holidays. Roller skating at the roller rink, riding round the town as teenagers singing at the tops of our voices. Singing, laughing, dancing, playing and working at the Spa Pavilion in the summer of ’85.

There was a big gap sadly as we grew up, went our separate ways and all but lost touch, but with the advent of Facebook I get to speak to her regularly and see her more often. While I have spent the years crafting, Nancy has been singing her little heart out and is now quite rightly very well respected in the folk scene now.

Anyhow, I digress. On the 21st of May my boy William and I joined other family and friends to celebrate Nancy’s birthday, so of course a card must be made. Here I shall share not only the card I made for Nancy but the lovely one the boy made for her too. Nancy has a love of owls and as well as her solo work she sings with the fab band The Owl Service. There was only one theme for her birthday cards.

Here is mine.

Twit twoo

I made a girly pretty owl using the lovely fruit scoop range from Craftwork Cards. This is an easel card, which is a style I love as it’s a little bit different.

And here is William’s

Concertina Owl

Nancy is not only a fab singer but a fine musician too. I reckon she could play just about any instrument. She also plays the concertina and this is what William chose to capture in his card.

He drew this great cartoon and I mounted it simply on grey and black layering mats to give his card the finish it deserves. I love this card and think William has a real talent for cartooning. Nancy was thrilled and all her guests were shown William’s artwork.

Well Cuz. Here we both are. The other side of the hill. Here’s to us celebrating many more occasions together.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 23:47:52

    Wow, love both cards – yours for the layering and William’s for the awesome owl cartoon and the way you have complemented it with the elegant mounting.

    Reply

  2. Supernan Sue
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 09:13:46

    Wow!! Claire, they are both gorgeous cards, William is really showing talent, it’s really cute
    Sue x

    Reply

  3. frances turner
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 19:37:16

    I enjoyed reading this one Claire. :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

