Handmade Houses Stitching

Now this project has been a long time in progress. In fact so long that I can’t actually recall when I started. I am thinking it was about five years ago but as is the usual way with these things it is probably considerably more. The design, or should I say designs as it is actually 5. Is by Michael Powell. I have worked several of his smaller designs before but loved this set of 5. They were designed so the patterns joined up to each other perfectly so me, being a glutton for punishment decided to work them all together on one piece.

It has been a lot of work as it is a solid design with a huge amount of backstitching. It was put to one side many times in favour of something else but finally it is done and I am really pleased with the finished piece.

But of course, if you are still reading this post, you will want to see some pictures. Well enjoy. I have included some close ups to see a bit more of the detail.

handmade Houses of Provence

Cafe Des Arts

Grocers and Arch

Hotel and Arch

Archway

Archway close up

The completed piece is approx 12 x 24 inches in size and is probably well over a hundred hours of solid stitching.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Wallace
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 23:05:41

    Coo-eee that’s amazing – love it!

    Reply

  2. Supernan Sue
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 19:18:24

    Wow!! Claire that is beautiful, I love his designs but never got round to doing any yet, I really love what you have done.
    Sue x

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 05:23:00

    Wow! You are brave! I have just started stitching the series, but I am stitching them individually. I have been referring to your pictures to check the back stitching at the borders of the cafe, so thanks for the great photos!
    It looks like you’ve added some fractionals too, I’ve definitely done that on designs in the past.

    Reply

    • Claire
      Nov 11, 2012 @ 11:06:26

      It was a huge project and took ages but was thrilled with it once I had finished. Yes. I have used many fractional stitches, some conventional and others I have created myself as I prefer the cleaner finish it gives with the back stitch. I’m glad you are finding my pictures a useful reference for your own project. Good luck with your stitching and I hope you enjoy working the designs as much as I did. Michael Powell is a wonderfully talented artist and I love his work. I met him briefly at a stitching show and he seems a lovely man too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

