More Wedding Makes

Over the course of a week in August I also made a couple of other bits for my sister’s wedding. The reception was held at the boat house in Teddington which underwent a staggering makeover for the big day. Everything was beautiful, particularly the bride and her attendants.

My contribution to the day was to create a seating plan guide and corresponding table flags in addition to a posting box for the guests to deposit their cards for the happy couple in.

Knowing the feel that my sister was looking for I suggested a traditional red letter box might be an idea. Fabulous idea I thought, until I started thinking about how on earth I was going to actually make this. It was a challenge, but I got there and here is how.

Creating the top I lined my stir fry pan with cling film and lined it with probably 8 – 10 layers of paper maché, strips of paper layered on with a mix of PVA glue and water.

Making the domed top - 1

Domed top - 2

The base of the box and the base of the domed lid were made from a pre bought paper maché hatbox. The dome was glued and pegged in place then additional card band added around the inside and outside of the bottom edge.

Attaching dome to lid

Attaching dome to lid

The main part of the hatbox was painted in black gloss paint to create the base and the body of the box was created with strips of card joined together and painted. The hole was then cut for posting and the domed top was glued to the top of the box. The base was not glued on so that the post box could be lifted out to retrieve the post.

Shell form

Coming together

The final step was to paint the box and add a posting times notice to the front. It was a serious challenge and took up most of the kitchen for most of the week, however, it was well worth all that effort.

Finished

And finally, in situ on the big day.

The Big Day

 

The table plan and flags was a much simpler task, matting and layering the table details and adding some paper bunting.

Table Plan

Table flags

 

And finally a picture of me and my boys on the day and another with my lovely baby sister Liza.

Me and my boys

Sisters

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 22:23:28

    Another stunning creation – you are very talented!!

    Reply

  2. Sue sharpe
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 10:18:06

    Hi Claire,

    What a wonderful thing to do for your sister, I really love the post box, how inventive and creative you are, Your sister looks beautiful on her wedding day.

    Well done,

    Sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

