Crochet – Blog catch up 4

I had a hankering after finishing  my ripple blanket from the pattern by Lucy at Attic24 to make another. It’s a great project to work on when you are busy with other things as you can just pick it up and work a bit once you have started, without needing to work from a pattern. However, I don’t need anther blanket, and certainly couldn’t justify spending such a lot of money on that lovely cotton yarn again (expensive string as my husband calls it).

With friends expecting a baby shortly after Christmas I had the perfect excuse for some ripply hookiness. I wanted to make it bright and colourful and a trip to our local village shop rewarded me with this lovely bumper bag of rainbow yarn at a very reasonable price. (Yarn is Hayfield Bonus DK if you need to know). That orange is a little on the bright side I think.

Lots of rainbow yarn

The first set of stripes was finished in no time at all.

First set of stripes

I worked on it throughout the Christmas period, picking it up at every spare moment.

In progress

I still thank that orange is a little on the bright side. I completed the blanket in good time and ready for the arrival of baby Sam.

Finished!

and folded

It satisfied my blanket making need and has found a very welcome home with the very gorgeous young man Sam as you can see below. And that orange. Turns out, orange is little Sam’s big brother’s favourite colour.

One special little blanket owner.

I’m so lucky that I can make things for special people.

 

My next update will be on a new hobby for me that I discovered back in February. Zentangling – a kind of structured doodling. See you then.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 08:13:25

    love the colours in this, and the orange really lit it up.

    Blessings
    Maxine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

