Zentangling – Blog catch up 5

I discovered Zentangle® in February at a craft show I visited with friends. I watched the lady demonstrating and thought it might be a good thing to try while I was still studying. Something that wasn’t a huge project, I could pick it up and do a bit whenever the mood took me. The lady was selling a kit but I was sure I wouldn’t need that and a bit of searching on the internet found rather a lot of source material. To see what’s out there do a quick google images search. There are tons out there.

The name of Zentangle® and Zentangling was created by Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas and they have developed quite a following for their own brand of structured doodling. The repetitive nature of it is very relaxing hence the Zen in the name. I found a few pattern sources on the internet dug out a notepad and pen and gave it a go. Here is my first attempt.

1st Attempt

As is my nature with such things, I was of course immediately hooked and treated myself to a couple of books, a new sketchbook and some pens. (Any excuse really). I also completed this piece entitled Dream.

Dream

I love the printed look of this and wanted a design for the first in my fresh new book. Anyone who has received a card or gift made by me will have seen my monogram on it. Having enjoyed the lettering in this piece I decided the first piece to christen my new book should be based around that monogram.

Monogram

The next piece was this ZEN. Can you tell I am a little bit addicted now?

Zen

After this I thought perhaps I could use the technique in my card making and did the following two cards. The first was Sky blue hearts of which I used the larger one on a Valentine’s card order. The second was using a rubber stamped image and coloured highlights with tangle patterns filling the background areas of the design.

Sky blue hearts

For these hearts I used Sakura Gelly roll pens. These give a lovely raised finish giving a slightly embossed look to the work.

Sky blue heart Valentine card

Mother’s Day Purple Tangle

After the cards I got thinking about other things I could decorate and after purchasing a plain white china mug and a ceramic pen I came up with this.

T mug – front

T mug – side

T mug – back

T mug – handle

Then during a brief stop in Honiton on the way to our holiday in Cornwall I picked up this 6×6 canvas and completed another tangle project.

6×6 canvas

And finally and most recently a selection of 3×3 inch cards. Although I haven’t managed to part with any of them as yet.

3×3 cards

3×3 cards

3×3 cards

3×3 cards

Initial T 3×3 card

I am loving this new addition to my ever expanding hobbies list and am already thinking about how I might be able to replicate it in some way in my lace design. Now there’s a challenge for me!

Next up will be my first adventures in the craft of needle felting. See you again soon.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 03:48:25

    WOW – you have really mastered this technique – love what you have achieved.
    Blessings
    Maxine

    Reply

  2. Sylvie A
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 07:52:06

    OMG!! Zentangle lace!!!… Fabulous!! I can’t wait to see..
    Hugs Sylvie xx

    Reply

  3. Supernan Sue
    Oct 14, 2012 @ 19:54:12

    WOW!! WOW!! WOW!!
    I really love your latest hobby, I don’t know how you find time to go Zentangling as well as all your other hobbies. The finished effect is gorgeous
    Hugs Sue xx

    Reply

  4. Caffy Bundy
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 00:32:04

    Beautiful!! I love the creativity!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

