Baking – Blog catch up 8 (very delayed)

Oops. My blog catch ups hit a rather large hiatus again. Of course, that means that my catch up list is even longer than it was. In order that I might finally catch up with myself properly I shall endeavour to keep some of these catch up post short and sweet.

With that in mind I suppose a baking catch up is the most appropriate thing to share. It will be sweet if nothing else. Short? Well I’ll see what I can do.

Fortunately for my blog and rather less fortunately for the usual recipients of my baking I haven’t baked as much in the last year so these catch up pics are mostly from the year before. The first bake I will share is probably the one of which I am most proud. A good friend and colleague asked if I might be able to make a cake for his daughter’s 9th birthday (she has recently celebrated her 10th). ‘Of course’ says I, ‘What would she like?’ Well what she wanted was her initial and it had to be chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate. ‘Leave it with me’ says I. I was pretty pleased with it and judging by the picture my friend posted on Facebook his daughter and friends loved it too.

Amy's cake

Amy’s cake

 

When I had completed the cake I had some leftover sponge and chocolate fudge frosting. I had fancied having a go at making cake pops, so Amy had a little extra surprise.

Cake pops

Cake pops

Cake Pops

Cake Pops

Cake Pops

Cake Pops

 

I had a second commission last year of a Golden Wedding Anniversary cake for a colleague in my office. I felt more pressure over this one.

Golden Wedding Cake

Golden Wedding Cake

Golden Wedding Cake

Golden Wedding Cake

Another favourite bake was a batch of cookie monster cupcakes after I stumbled across a pack of candy eyes in Hobbycraft.

Cookie Monster cupcakes

Cookie Monster cupcakes

Cookie Monster cupcakes

Cookie Monster cupcakes

And there was a range of other bakes made from time to time. I think I need to do a bit more baking soon and get my mojo back again. I’m sure my friends and colleagues won’t complain.

Chocolate Cupcakes

Chocolate Cupcakes

Chocolate Cupcakes

Chocolate Cupcakes

Ginger cake and Lemon traybake

Ginger cake and Lemon traybake

Simon's Cat cookies

Simon’s Cat cookies

Chocolate Crackle Cookies

Chocolate Crackle Cookies

Lemon Buttercream cupcakes

Lemon Buttercream cupcakes

Lemon Buttercream cupcakes

Lemon Buttercream cupcakes

 

Another update coming soon. I’ll get up to date eventually.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 22:52:32

    I had just finished breakfast and you put all these before me……. now I am hungry again!! Wonderful baking, and I love the Simon’s Cat biscuits!!
    Blessings
    Maxine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

