More Crochet and a sneaky knit too – Blog catch up 11

Whilst in my crochet phase I made a few other bits and pieces. As my previous post was getting a little on the long side I thought I’d give them their own post.

I love Japanese Kokeshi dolls and Russian Matryoshka dolls and looked around to see what patterns I could find. I wanted a Kokeshi that I could work up fairly quickly like the little owlies I had made previously. I found two patterns online and made them up. One was slightly larger than I wanted and although I was really pleased with her, she took a bit too long if I were to end up making them in any quantity. Additionally, the sleeves were very fiddly to work. Next I tried a smaller one. This one, although very cute was way too small and fiddly to work and was most reluctant when it came to standing up on her own.

The solution? Well, I designed my own. She’s simple and relatively quick to work, perfectly sized and stands up well. I have written out the pattern and a friend has tested it. I’d quite like to sell it through etsy, folksy or ravelry but I need to come up with a few more designs first.

Kokeshi Dolls Large and Small

Kokeshi Dolls Large and Small

Kokeshi Dolls. Own design on left.

Kokeshi Dolls. Own design on left.

I completed a couple of other yarny projects last year. The first was a crochet bag based on the ‘Lucy” bag from Attic24. This was a birthday present for my Mum, she was thrilled with it and uses it all the time.

Purple 'Lucy' bag

Purple ‘Lucy’ bag

Purple 'Lucy' bag

Purple ‘Lucy’ bag

Bag lining close up

Bag lining close up

I also stumbled across a pattern for a knitted Clanger (one of my favourite TV programmes as a child). He is knitted, and my shoulders soon reminded me why I don’t knit any more. I don’t think I’ll be making any more of these. Here he is anyway.

Clanger back

Clanger back

Clanger Front

Clanger Front

That’s pretty much all for my knitting and crochet apart from the project I am currently working on. I have wanted to make another blanket for a while now. I have a load of Acrylic Double Knit hanging about so have made a start on one. It is a variation on the ripple blanket that I finished back in November 2010 however this time I am putting a single row of white between each colour to give a different look. I have 10 colours plus white and plan to do 4 repeats of the colours to make a square blanket with an added border around the edge to finish it off.

The plan is for a picnic blanket, although whether it will be used as such is another matter. It will make a lovely bright snuggle blanket for the sofa if nothing else.

Progress so far.

Ripple progress

Ripple progress

I am finally nearly there with my catch up posts. One or two more and I will be sharing much more current projects with you soon. Thank you for reading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maxine D
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 00:50:58

    What lovely crochet you do – and well done on creating your own pattern. The new blanket looks great.
    Blessings
    Maxine

    Reply

  2. Frances Turner
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 09:11:10

    Yes the purple bag has been used every day and is standing up well to shopping use. The two purple owlies on the handle are much admired as is the bag. Thank you Claire for being a lovely clever Daughter Love you xxxx

    Reply

  3. Claire
    Aug 21, 2013 @ 09:16:17

    You’re welcome Ma. I realised when posting the pictures that I don’t have one with the owlies on it. That’s very remiss of me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

